bakugo needs to confront the fact that telling a kid to go kill himself after years of brutal unrelenting bullying was a terrible thing to do!! that it was fucked up & wrong and unacceptable no matter what imagined slights he projected onto midoriya.
yeah he’s!!! such a clever boy….i cry every day bc he’s always like “it’s because of LUCK i’m here” meanwhile he’s just….working so hard, becoming the worlds most Shredded™ 14 year old, powering through every obstacle & hurdle through his own effort, batmanning his way through challenges w/ his natural eye for strategy….a smart & ridiculous boy.
I love kanji, studying it in my free time is what I do when I’m not writing or making crappy fan art because boy do I need to get better at writing it, but while going through my manga a few minutes ago, I came across something that made me simultaneously angry and giggly.
The kanji for Bakugo’s name is 爆豪勝己 lit: explosion powerful victory self, which just totally gives away his character and quirk right off the bat, since his quirk is 爆破, explosion.
When his parents are introduced, we find out their names are Mitsuki and Masaru. And while this means nothing to someone reading the manga in English, for those of us who read it in Japanese (friendly neighborhood admin does the nihongo) the kanji used for their names are interesting, and this is where I was like *growls with anger while trying not to laugh*
Katsuki’s mother’s name, Mitsuki uses these kanji: 光己 lit: light self. It’s a pretty name, but she shares the same last kanji in her name as her son, Katsuki, the same 己
So, when I saw Katsuki’s father’s name, Masaru, I wanted to punch a wall because this kid’s name is literally just his dad’s name + the second half of his mom’s name I’m so f*cking mad rn
Masaru Bakugo’s name is written as 爆豪勝 lit: explosion powerful victory, but instead of being read as かつ (Katsu) like Katsuki’s name, it’s the nanori (a special reading for a kanji when used as a name) Masaru.
Bakugo’s parents decided that they were going to name their kid after themselves. Not only is he Winning Dude McPowerfulExplosion, his parents just combined their names! He’s My Parents Really Wanted To Name Me After Them Wining Dude McPowerfulExplosion. And I thought we’d seen it all when it came to Horikoshi’s naming of his characters being redundant. Katsuki was actually the first character whose name I got irrationally upset about when he was first shown.
A lot of the characters in the series suffer similarly cruel fates for their names, like my boy Tetsutetsu (鉄哲徹鐵, lit: iron intelligent/wise/sagely piercing iron, with the last kanji being an archaic kanji for iron); his name is composed of all different kanji with the same reading, but it’s so damn redundant it’s painful for me every time I see it. At least the only part of Izuku’s name that gets beaten over your head is the Deku reading that Katsuki points out when they’re little kids…
Just thought other people might find this interesting, though I’m sure someone has probably already pointed this out before at some point.
deku: hi kacchan do you wanna go get lunch or someth–
bakugo: YOU FUCKING USELESS ANNOYING STUPID PIECE OF GARBAGE DONT EVEN TALK TO ME EVER AGAIN!!!!! YOU’RE THE MOST WORTHLESS PIECE OF SHIT WHY WOULD YOU EVEN LOOK AT ME I’LL BREAK YOU IN HALF LIKE A TOOTHPICK. MY PRESCHOOL TEACHER SAID I WAS SPECIAL SO ITS OK THAT IM LIKE THIS.
ok but can we all stop lyin’ to ourselves. i know we all call it bakusquad or w/e to constrast it with deku squad, but let’s all be real here. the friend group bakugo is part of? It’s kirishima’s,
like… kirishima? he’s the friend everyone likes, the ringleader of pure joy. they adore him. look, let’s be frank here: bakugo is an ass and its clear the students dont worship him like he was in middle school and evne mock the dude. kirishima on the other hand, as mentioned, is clearly well liked like izuku is so like…. bakugo is just tolerated bc kirishima likes him.
srsly bakugos only in that group bc kirishima is gay and has poor taste smh
one of the weirdest things abt boku no hero academia is that everyone trips over themselves to marvel bakugo bc his quirk was explodey hands like was there REALLY no one in that class who had a quirk more praiseworthy than that. most people can set shit on fire without birth mutations. you wanna know an impressive quirk? being able to make usable wifi with ur brain. if THAT guy was getting his ego boosted from preschool id buy it