Aoyama’s quirk lets him shoot a laser out of his navel. Hagakure’s quirk lets her bend light through her body. Aoyama could “super charge” his laser by directing it at Hagakure, who could absorb it like a laser in a prism and redirect it. Together they could be the most sparkly team.
This is cruel. Unlike Izuku, Togata Mirio was born with a quirk. However, just like his kouhai, he built himself from the ground up. Cursed with a difficult quirk to utilize, Mirio has been destined by fate to become anything but a hero. His father gave up the dream because their quirk is a danger to themselves, a hindrance rather than a power.
But Mirio persevered and persevered to the point where All Might’s sidekick acknowledges him as someone worthy to become the future Symbol of Peace. Now take the span of hard work that Izuku has put in from the start of the series to now — a little under 1.5 years — and imagine Mirio doing the same grueling training, but for 17 years. This doesn’t just include manifesting his quirk and developing it; this encompasses his desire to become a hero from the day he understood the concept. His desire to prove the impossible.
And in a heartbeat, it’s gone. To uphold the very definition of hero he holds so dear, Togata Mirio becomes quirkless. Not only that, but he smiles triumphantly at his fate, one he must have known was a possibility, and dives headlong into battle without fear for his life.
Horikoshi writes a story about a quirkless boy who started from nothing, and now he tells the tale of another boy who also started from nothing, but refuses to lose his way despite becoming quirkless.
Togata Mirio’s fate is hardly the opposite of Izuku’s. Even quirkless, he is still standing to the last breath. But my heart aches for him, for the little girl who will inevitably blame herself for taking away his quirk, for the first-year Izuku who will feel compelled to empathy but unable to say why, and for the boy who is, in Kirishima’s words, “someone who will never break.”
i mean he probably accidentally activated his quirk on his dad or something and thats more or less canon but his face is already fucked up (like the scar around his mouth) so?? kid. kid. kid..
Choosing not to kill/sacrifice All Might has been and will continue to be one of the best storytelling choices Horikoshi has ever made. Like, nothing gets to me more than All Might accepting his fate from a man whose quirk is literally to see into the future, and then somehow, despite that, after meeting Izuku and his other students and realizing their importance, changing his mind and saying, “No. I will NOT die. I will Live. I will twist fate into whatever shape I see fit and live for the sake of these kids,” like holy fuck dude I’m getting goosebumps
i really like the worldbuilding idea that “healing quirks” are incredibly rare, not just because, well, an individual quirk type is never going to take up THAT huge a percentage of the population (especially such a highly specific idea as “heal”) but also because healing quirks are in incredibly high demand and manifesting one more or less paints a metaphorical target on your back. ever party needs a healer.
anyway “healing quirks” aren’t often given a chance to like, re-enter the gene pool. cancer boy who’s quirk was destroying cancer didnt last long if u catch my drift lol.
basically recovery girl is a stone cold badass for like eight different reasons
if u think about it erasermic is a perfect ship bc if mic slips in into quirk screams in an inopportune moment aizawa can just shut that shit down with his horrified wide-eyed stare
the roleswap w/ “shigaraki eri” and “tenko” makes me feel kind of bad for aizawa bc i imagine shigaraki!eri has some pretty fine control over her quirk and every time the noumu gets close to literally killing him she uh
honestly kouichi is so so stupid too like………hwo did you not understand you could go backwards for like, 20 entire years. why do you blame all your problems wrt being a hero on not passing a singular exam and “not having a flashy quirk” you didnt try you stupid asshole. his quirk is super versatile he just didn’t fucking try!
yeah lmao if they were gonna make the character bargin bin midoriya why couldn’t the story be about a quirkless kid getting mentored by another quirkless vigilante! that’d be compelling!!
as it is he SUCKS, i hate him, and i continue to pretend the story is pop*step’s more traditional hero’s journey from attention seeking nuisance to vigilante which is imo way more interesting mostly bc i love her and wish the story wasn’t disgusting