tbh the funniest illegals au is the one where knuckleduster is izuku’s biological father specifically bc he’s that parent that brings like three air horns to graduation (or the sports fest) and aizawa is gonna take one look at him and Know. exactly. who this pain in the ass is. 2/3 of midoriya’s parents are actively trying to give aizawa an aneurism.
Tag: Bnha
Aizawa: Just look on the bright side – how could this get stupider than it already is?
Dabi: Hey, you kids wanna be on fire?
something i think about constantly is whether or not aizawa is considered short in the bnha universe
like, he wouldn’t be in the real world. he’s 6′0″ (183 cm) which is a perfectly normal height for a 30 year old man. but like, humanity seems to have evolved to be taller in the series. you have people like blood king and toshinori who make aizawa look like a teenager next to him, and their quirks don’t affect their height at all (unlike fatgum’s). also there’s like 3-4 kids in aizawa’s class that are already as tall or taller than him and they’re like 15. is he considered short in this universe. it keeps me up at night.
NIGHTEYE IS 6′7″
nighteye has yaoi proportions are we really surprised
i looked up “izuku bullying” in tumblr search and came up w/ a bunch of deku/////bakugo ship stuff………….ew
And just like that the danger is past, and a roomful of eyes stare and stare and don’t look away. If anyone speaks then Izuku can’t hear it past the cotton wool in his ears and the high-pitched whining tone echoing in his brain. He pumps the brakes on his roaring panic, because homeroom is only ten minutes and he needs time. But it’s just like Sachi’s car, that mangled steel corpse left to rust on the beach—the lines are cut and Izuku is going to crash.
(Yesterday Upon the Stair, Chapter 28)
I’m a big fan of FMA. A lot of people are. And I read once, I think on some Tumblr post that’s been lost to the ages, that one of the many good things FMA did was refuse to forget about deceased characters. Characters that die stick with those that survive; Hughes for Mustang, Nina and Alexander for Ed and Al, and so on. They aren’t constantly on the characters’ minds, but every now and then they’re reminded of what they’ve lost, what they failed to save.
I wanted to capture that for YUTS Izuku, especially since death is such an integral part of his life. He’s full of stories, most of which he keeps locked in a box under his bed so he doesn’t forget the people he meets, the people he helps, the people who weren’t saved. He doesn’t stop thinking about them just because they happen to leave.
my tags from that last bakugo post by @lesbian-ochako (it’s a damn good post) + some added stuff because i have thoughts on this, as a survivor and as someone who is mentally ill:
bakugo definitely needs. therapy in general like. he just. kid needs genuine psychological help. he’s HEAVY coded as having NPD, for one (which is NOT to say that people with NPD are inherently abusive, nor is it to say that it is to blame for his abusive behavior. the two things are mutually exclusive. my abuser has NPD but his NPD didn’t make him abuse me. i have a cluster B as well – because i was abused. PDs are highly exacerbated by outside circumstance, i can expand on this if asked.)
bakugo has literally no idea that how his mom raised him was abusive. it’s just how it was for him, and he unfortunately falls into the (very small) percentage of abuse victims who parrot and pass along what’s done and said to them. he literally doesn’t even classify it as abuse, which already says a lot about how badly it warped his sense of judgment.
there’s a LOT to unpack there and i seriously wish his backstory wasn’t played for laughs. he needs to get through THAT shit and understand that part of his life and his psyche in order to properly tackle the ROOT of his anger issues and kill them like a weed. to not only recognize what he’s been doing all his life but ALL of the different components that contributed to shaping him. he has to understand in order to stop. and he needs to stop.
his behavior is a hydra: you can’t just chop off the heads, more will grow back. you have to kill the entire creature right from the heart. you can’t just treat symptoms, you have to treat the whole condition.
you can’t just tell him to stop doing individual things as they happen – he has to understand how his own mind works, why it works that way, and then maybe he’ll see just how deep it all runs. because it runs pretty deep.
it all ties together and it’s a big gnarled nasty horrible mess and HE is a mess and he needs to. realize these things. just like he needs to face consequences for his actions in general he needs to actually experience Consequences in order to learn. consequences and the truth. it’s not just about realizing what was done to him by his mother and how the praise from everyone else combined with her treatment distorted his thinking. it’s still about recognizing the mistakes and bad choices he made all on his own. all of it. every piece.
and then after all this he honestly needs to just get Away from izuku like. izuku keeps making the conscious decision to keep being near him + still prioritizes his well being when he doesn’t have to and that’s izuku’s choice to make. he’s allowed to make it, even if it’s not wise or healthy. but in the long term the best thing that can be done in terms of healing is separation, honestly. it’s hard when they’re still in school because they’re in the same class but as they grow up they need to part ways.
izuku needs to heal from this shit Away from bakugo and bakugo needs to. start over. in order to progress as a better person in his future he needs to step away from the damage he’s done in the past because frankly, even if izuku were to forgive him there’s absolutely no way for this to be made alright. for either of them to forget about it. it would hang over them every time izuku flinches when he spots bakugo from his peripheral. it would hang over them.
the best thing they can do for themselves is learn who they are without the other person casting a very strange and complicated shadow. closure is important but sometimes it’s just that – closure. that part of your life ends and you move forward. and hopefully by that time, yeah, if they ever see each other in the future they can be amicable and just. chat about mundane things, and then continue moving on. the goal would be just. being able to breathe easier.
that’s the best that can really be hoped for. they just need some time away.
lmao if you reblog, do not tag this as bk/dk.
Bkdk is indeed abusive. Bakugo, ever since he and Midoriya were children has physically and mentally abused Midoriya: eventually leading to him cowering whenever he enters the room. Shipping a 15 year old with their abuser is extremely harmful, and is grooming other children to believe that they should immediately forgive their abusers and possibly enter a relationship with them. Bkdk is a ship that includes abuse and no mutual respect, therefore it is problematic to abuse survivors who frequently see content for said ship. In this essay I
Legit just read someone on instagram say that Bakugo wasn’t abusive to Deku and I’m??? So??? Confused??? Like??? How can you think that??? How can you not see how badly abusive was Bakugo with Deku????
HE LITERALLY TREMBLES WHEN HES AROUND HIM DO THESE PEOPLE NOT KNOW TRAUMA WHEN THEY SEE IT?
deku: *clearly suffers from a abuse due to bakugo, has severe anxiety, other trauma caused by his abuser* bakugo: *is no longer an abuser but is still an asshole; never apologized for his actions of the consequences; still treats deku like shit* b*kud*ku shippers: aww look! bakugo is “protecting” deku :))) thats love!! clearly there have always been feelings!! bakugo was just lashing out!!! now theyre all better!!
I KNOW LIKE???? just bc bakugo improves as a person that doesnt mean their relationship would be any less toxic
it seems like theyre trying to set up midoriya and bakugo to be rivals in heroism but honestly bakugos just a bastard abuser that has a personality i just cant fucking stand